Tags

, , , , , , ,

Hey! Is this thing still on?

My blog took the back burner while I’ve been finishing up my master’s. Good news is, most of my writing is done now so I actually feel like blogging again!

So when I last left you, I was training for Ottawa race weekend for the half marathon. Training went ok but as is tradition, the race was stinking hot. So about 40 minutes in, I decided it was safer and smarter to slow down and just enjoy the race. I had fun and didn’t PR, but I think I set a personal record for how many high fives I gave in one race! I finished in 2:21, which is not bad but not what I was hoping for.

2017-05-28 12.13.43

I am planning on doing a fall marathon this year. I’m glad I decided against doing the marathon at race weekend (I was worried it would be hot again!). Also I think it was the smart choice because I was injured so I gave myself some recovery time instead of jumping straight into marathon training.

I also did another race a few weeks later. This was a MEC race out in Carp. Of course, it was another hot day. I wasn’t expecting anything crazy because there is a pretty big hill on the course so I just ran my best. But damn, if that course was flat, I would have had a huge PR. The heat and the hill got to me but I still finished 10k in under an hour!

This was encouraging after a sub par half marathon. The training was there, the weather was not on my side. It was Father’s day also, so it was nice to get out there with my dad!

Since then, I’ve been building up my base mileage again. I’ve also gone on a few bikes rides. I need to try and do more cross training to avoid the muscle imbalance I was dealing with last year. The weather hasn’t been great here in Ottawa (for summer weather), but in terms of running – it’s been nice. Although it’s been raining a lot, the temperature has been cooler than normal. Not good for summer vacations, but pretty decent for running!

I ran through downtown Ottawa on Canada Day. It was crazy, but it was fun to explore the crowds! We ended up doing about 5 miles but it felt short because we were having so much fun.

I ran 10 miles today which felt good. My shins wouldn’t warm up at the start but eventually, I got going. It was pretty cool out until the end of my run. But definitely nothing to complain about since it could be a lot hotter in July!

I am considering doing the farm race I’ve done a few times. I’m holding out a bit longer to get an idea of what the weather will look like. Last year, I signed up and then it was 34 degrees Celsisus, and was one of the hottest days of the whole summer. I’m hoping this isn’t the case this year. I need at least one decent weather race!

Lastly, my boyfriend and I adopted a kitten a few months ago. She is very cute and playful. Her name is Noelle and we adopted her from the Humane Society. They are doing a fundraising run for them in September! http://www.runottawa.ca/races-and-events/run-ottawa-races/run-for-the-animals

That’s all I’ve got for now. I will have more updates soon!

