Tags

, , , , ,

Happy Friday!

As mentioned before, my plan for this year is to do a half in the spring and hopefully crack the 2 hour mark. I spent January and February building my base up. It didn’t go as well as planned in February because I got a cold that knocked me out for about a week. However, I did 64 miles in January and 58 miles in February with cycling mixed in there too (141 minutes in January and 236 in February). It doesn’t seem like much but my mileage in December was a whopping 9 miles so I’ll take it.

I also did a 10k race in February to do a fitness check on my speed going into training. I obviously lost speed by not running much over the last few months but it wasn’t as bad as I thought. I finished in 58:30.

We lucked out in February and had about a week of beautiful weather. I ran in shorts!

Please note that there are people sledding on a hill behind me.

Anyways, now I am right into my training. I am using a modified version of the Hanson’s method for marathon training. I know I am not training for a marathon, so I’ve adjusted the workouts accordingly. I like how they have a well structured program with tempo and interval workouts. It also means I will be running 4-5 days a week. I am supplementing one of the recovery runs with a cycling/cross training day. I also jumped straight into the week where the interval and tempo days start. It’s an 18 week plan and I don’t need that much for a half.

Last week was the first week of training. Unlike in February, the weather has been quite brutal for the last two weeks. The temperature has dropped again and there’s been a lot of windy days. I still managed pretty decent interval and tempo runs.

2017-03-02 12.12.042017-02-28 08.48.05

I should also mention that these runs were done at the tail end of my cold so I was very surprised I was able to keep up!

I did a short run last Saturday. It was probably one of the coldest days I’ve ever ran on. At least the sun was out.

I don’t have my sunglasses on because they froze.

Then I did an 8 mile long run last Sunday which also felt pretty decent. My knee has been holding up. Sometimes it gets stiff when I’ve been sitting for a while but honestly I can’t remember if it was always like that.

So the first week of training went pretty well. This week hasn’t been so successful. First, my schedule got thrown out the window because of freezing rain on Monday night. I knew it wouldn’t be smart to run Tuesday morning after it was so icy. I went to the hockey game on Monday night and it was pretty funny to see everyone scraping their cars off in the parking lot.

I cycled on Tuesday instead. That went really well but I’m afraid I overdid it. I did my interval run the next morning and just could not get moving. On top of that, my stomach was not feeling 100% and I was getting side stitches. I still finished the run but it was not as fun as last week.

I took a rest day yesterday because my legs still felt dead. Today was my tempo run. The same problem happened where I ended up with side stitches and my legs were dead. The weather also changed while I was out and went from running in the sun to running head first into a blizzard. That made things a little more difficult.

I’m trying to stay positive and not get discouraged by two mediocre runs. I feel I still put as much effort in this week as I did last week, I was just more tired. My school life was pretty busy and I had a lot of work to do which meant staying late some nights. I’m hoping my long run this weekend goes better and that my stomach will cooperate.

I promise I will check back in soon! Have a good weekend!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

