Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Good afternoon everyone!

I’m having myself a productive day and wanted to write a blog while I was at it. If you recall from my last couple of posts, I am currently building base before training for any more races. I’ve worked up to 19 miles this week. It’s not where I’d like to be but it’s a start and it beats being injured. I’m also still doing at least one bike ride a week along with some strength training. It feels good to get back into the swing of things.

We’ve had some crazy weather here the past couple of weeks. It went from freezing cold (which was just enough to freeze the canal over) to about a week and a half of above freezing temperatures. Here’s me when the canal was open. 2017-01-15-15-31-43

Here I am four days later with no gloves or coat on.

2017-01-19-08-43-34

I really don’t mind running in the cold but it’s been such a treat to not have to layer up so much. The warm weather also helped to clear off the paths and sidewalks which helps a lot. Lots of puddles to dodge, but it’s better than running over uneven ice. I know there are some people who absolutely love winter and are bummed out by the warm weather, but I’m sure it’ll cool down again soon enough!  In the mean time, I will not be wearing full pants while I run.

2017-01-22-10-58-53

I don’t think I’ve mentioned it yet, but I’ve signed up for my big races for the year. I wanted to get in before the prices went up because, after all, I am still a student. I signed up for Ottawa race weekend (the half marathon), the Army run (10 k – new this year) and the Toronto Waterfront Marathon (marathon). I’m completely changing my racing strategy for the year based on weather and my injury.

I figured I could not get enough training in to run the race weekend marathon at full capacity. I also do not want a repeat of last year where the weather was smoking hot. I figure with a late fall marathon, I will have a better chance with cool temperatures. This will mean training long through the summer but I’m ok with getting up really early as long as the sun is up. It’s harder to do that in the winter. Also, with my master’s degree starting to wrap up, I didn’t want to over commit myself and regret it.

I don’t think I will run Around the Bay this year. I am bummed by this but it makes sense. Unless my training is perfect from here on out, I will barely be able to cover the distance. And school is hella busy so it’s all good.

I decided to try to 10 k at the Army Run because I never do well at the half marathon anyways, and it always seems to be hot too. At least I won’t have to run for as long if it does end up being toasty again.

I’ve heard good things about the waterfront marathon, and it’s always been a marathon that I would sit down and watch the coverage for. Now this year, I’ll be in it! Funny story – this may end up falling on the same day as my graduation…. I’ll deal with that as it happens.

That’s all for running news. In other news, I got a new bed. I’m super excited about it and it looks really nice! And it’s really comfy!

2017-01-23 19.26.38.jpg

Lastly, my friend got a really cute dog and I’m really jealous. I got to play with him on the weekend. His name is Rocky, aka Mr. Fluffy.

2017-01-22-14-12-53

That’s all for now!

If you don’t follow me on twitter, you can @Aouzas05!

 

 

 

 

 

 

