Tags

, , , , ,

It’s the time of year when you can be 20 degrees too hot and 20 degrees too cold on the same run if you don’t dress right. I thought I would give a quick guide on how I dress for the chilly weather!

It can be tough because the days are still short. You can leave in gleaming sunshine and come back in the dark. The key to dressing properly in this case is to have a certain amount of adjustability in your outfit. 

First, I’ll show you how to keep warm when it’s below -10 C and windy. The key to staying warm is layering. I like to put capris with compression socks on and a long sleeve shirt. 

  
Next, I layer up with my winter running pants. I do the layer on my legs because I find they get too cold when it’s windy. 

  
Unless it’s really cold, I just throw a jacket on top. I also put on a buff, a headband and gloves. 

  
This is where the “adjustability” comes in. I like having the buff because you can pull it over your face when you’re running into the wind, but pull it down if you’re in the sun or just too hot. 

  
Another thing I do is layer thinner gloves (just two pairs). This way, once my hands heat up, I can remove the second pair so they aren’t getting really sweaty. And I can just put them in my pockets and hold them if I want to put them back on. If it’s really cold (-15 or lower) I will just wear thicker gloves. 

Also (not pictured from my run today) I have a coat with a hood which allows for even more in-run adjusting if necessary. This is great for if it starts snowing and you don’t want a wet head!

wp-1451760338419.jpg

Other tips to avoid being all sorts of temperatures on your winter run are to:

  1. Avoid out and back routes.
  2. Try and go out in the middle of the day, if possible. Then you will get the full force of the sun. 
  3. Don’t get discouraged if you can’t get your outfit right. It takes practice!

Those are all my tips for now. Feel free to ask any questions. In Ottawa, we are blessed with hot summers and brutal winters. 

  

