Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hey everyone! It seems every post this summer starts off with me explaining where I’ve been. July was a busy month for school and I was just enjoying my summer.

When we left off last, I was about to run a race at the experimental farms on a really hot night. Unfortunately, they were right about it being super hot! 2016-07-13 20.05.36.png

Not exactly perfect racing conditions… I should have been a bit smarter about how I paced this out. I told myself that I would want to start slow and just be smart. Then I took off like a rocket because the heat “didn’t feel that bad”. Let me tell you, it felt bad about halfway through the race and I completely slowed down. I have to work on pacing myself better for these shorter races.

2016-08-04 10.39.55.png

The worst part was, had I just gone slower I would have placed 3rd in my age category. And won a medal. Lesson learned for next time I guess.

At least I look like I’m having a good time. Also, after this race I had a soccer game. So I really had a long day of activities!

If you recall, I complained about a mysterious foot pain the week before this race. Good news- whatever it was seems to have gone away. I think it was just because I had worn my shoes out completely but was still running in them. I replaced them and got a new pair.

I set out to the shoe store with a high budget in mind because I am picky and would rather have a comfortable shoe instead of a cheap one. I have been running in Mizuno Wave Sayonara 2 for about 3 years now. I would replace old pairs with a new color but always have the same shoe. They stopped making this one last year and came out with a newer version. I tried it on when it first came out but I didn’t like it. I decided to give it a shot again this year and I liked it! Lucky for me, it was half price so I ended up buying two pairs. I usually do this because I know I will probably go through this pair in a few months. So much for running being a cheap hobby!

On a non-running related note, we went to see the Red Hot Chili Peppers at Bluesfest! It was a super crowded show but it was a lot of fun.

2016-07-15 19.41.10

Not a lot of other running things to report. I’m starting to ramp up my mileage in preparation for the Army run. I’m not sure if I mentioned it already, but I will be doing the Commander’s Challenge. You run the 5k at 8:30 and finish in time to also run the half marathon at 9:30. Should be interesting.

I think I will be able to get in shape before then but it already feels like I’m running out of time. I’ve built my training plan to max out at a 16 mile long run to account for the extra distance. I’ve also included some modified speed runs from the Hanson’s Method training plan. Basically, I adjusted the interval lengths by a factor of 16.1/26.2 to account for the lower mileage race I’m doing.

I did one interval run last week at night. This was a bad idea. I left at 7:30 pm and it was still so hot! This week, I made sure to get up early instead. I found it a lot easier to complete the workout and go faster for the intervals.

Lastly, I was feeling brave on the long weekend! If you know me, I am not a big thrill seeker. I am afraid of heights and don’t really like rides. I got the idea to try an aerial park to see if I would have fun or not. It was a 3.5 hour activity with ziplines and obstacles to climb on/over. I ended up having a lot of fun! I wasn’t even afraid on the zip lines.

2016-07-30 14.40.12.jpg

I also took a stab at trail running on Monday. We picked the hardest trail in Gatineau Park (the wolf trail) and soon found ourselves in over our heads. Some parts were very very steep and impossible to actually run up. Eventually, it turned into a nice, hilly dirt path. I was so tired by then, I tripped and went flying. I bruised my butt and got scrapes all down my legs. What a loser.

2016-08-01 13.34.25.jpg

We did stop for poutine on the way home though, so I guess it was worth it.

Overall, July was an ok month for running. My race sucked, I thought I hurt myself, but I still managed to get some solid runs in. I did 71.5 miles (115 km). I am hoping to get closer to 100 miles for August to prepare for the fall races!

I think that’s all for now. Sorry about the randomness of this post, I had lots to share!

 

