Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Good afternoon all! It’s been a little while since I have written anything. I’ve been taking a bit of a break from running since the marathon. 

Coming up tomorrow, I have another mec race. It’s a 10km run in Carp which I also did last year. I was hoping to finally set a smoking fast PR but the weather is going to be really hot again! The two races I’ve done in the last two months have been the hottest days of the year. 

The high is going to be 34 degrees tomorrow and it will be kind of humid. This throws the race plan out the window of trying to run it as fast as I can. Luckily MEC has been well organized and had moved the race times earlier to protect everyone. Unfortunately this course takes place through what are basically farm roads. This means there is almost no possibility of shade. 

They also allowed people to downgrade their race distances if they felt they could not handle the heat. They offer a half marathon, a 10k and a 5k. My dad was planning on doing the half but he ran earlier this week and decided the heat would be too much to handle. So he moved down to the 10k which means we will race together on Father’s Day! 

The forecast for the morning does not look too bad but you can see that once the sun is up, it’s going to heat up very quickly. 

  
I went for a short run today just to stretch my legs out a bit. Luckily it has not been humid so it wasn’t too bad to run in. I managed two miles at noon without feeling too bad so hopefully I’ll do ok in the heat tomorrow. It was already 26 degrees when I ran. 

   
 
Those are the before and after shots. I’m very glad my air conditioner is working! 

My race plan is basically to go as fast as possible but dial back based on feel. I’m also going to carry water with me. I won’t need to drink much in a 10k but I would rather have it with me than not. Plus I can dump it on my head if I’m feeling bad. 

I’ll write about the race sometime this week and let you all know how it goes! 

