Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hello all!

As I mentioned in my last post, I will tell you a little bit more about my goals for the marathon. It’s in two weeks and I’m starting to get excited/terrified/hungry/dead.

As you may know, I did the same race last year and absolutely crashed and burned. Had I not started talking to a lady on the course, I don’t know that I would have finished. She was like my own personal pace bunny to keep me going. So many things happened-  I didn’t have enough water because I decided not to bring my fuel belt, I wasn’t fueling properly because I was waiting for the water stations, and it was hot.

Looking back at my splits, I ran out of gas at around 15 km. This is not ideal when running 42.2….. So I’m not sure what caused that but I’m hoping I’ve done enough long runs to prevent it this time. Overall, I have done less training in the last month than I did last year, but I’ve been more consistent with my long runs. I’m hoping this will be ok since it is more valuable training (hopefully!!!). And I also did extra races this year, so I’m hoping that will help too.

The last couple of weeks, I have been trying to get used to running in the heat. I’ve been purposely overdressing and trying to run during the hottest part of the day- being a student again has made this a lot easier!

So far the weather for race day is looking hot and sunny. It’s still early but I guess that’s better than super wet, windy and cold.

2016-05-19 15.11.59

I went for a run last week when it was 25 degress out and I thought I was actually going to die. I went for 5 km, and just had no energy. It was so warm in the sun, I had a headache from the heat when I got home. I should have worn a hat and brought water, but I’m not that smart. Here I am afterwards.

2016-05-12 16.37.34

Super sweaty.

Anyways! Back to race goals.

Since it’s probably going to be warm, it may still end up being a tough race. I’m hoping I don’t get trampled by the half marathon people in Gatineau again. I always like to set a few goals in case things aren’t going as well as I planned.

Goal 1: Beat my time from last year (5:40)

This goal should happen pretty much no matter what. I was so slow and had no gas for the entire race. Even if I can only “race” for the first 30 km and walk the rest, it will probably still be faster than that time. Yikes I was slow!

Goal 2: Crack 5 hours

Again, I’m hoping that based on the amount of training I have put in, this should be another reasonable goal. This is pretty slow for how fast I have been running in races lately, but you never know. Marathons are a whole different beast.

Goal 3: Crack 4:45

I believe this is within reach still even though my training has been less than what I hoped for. This would mean running every 5 km segment in about 33:30 which is totally reasonable.

Goal 4: Do better than all of these goals!

If things really line up on race day, I may even do better than these goals. I am trying to be cautious with my goals because you can get in a lot of trouble in a marathon thinking you can go a lot faster than you can. This goal will also include “just finish” in case things go worse than expected.

Overall, I am nervous for the race. I don’t think I am in as good shape as I was for the hypthermic half (2:03). If I was, I think it would be reasonable to try and come in under 4:30 but we will see. Sometimes we surprise ourselves.

I will update more next week when I pick up my bib and race shirt. Here is a cool picture of Ottawa (looking out to Gatineau) from my last long run. You can see the Chateau Laurier on the right, with the Alexandra Bridge (which is a part of the race route!).

2016-05-15 12.47.08

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

