Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Hey folks. Sorry about the month long hiatus. I’ve been pretty busy and blogging hasn’t been on my mind!

First update: I am back at school! After thinking about it over the summer, I decided that I would go back to school to work on my master’s. I’m doing a master of science in Chemical engineering. What that means is I’ll take a few courses but what I’ll mainly be working on is research. So far I have been reading a lot of textbooks and scouring the internet for relevant articles. It’s been great so far, it’s nice to feel like I’m using my brain more to its full potential instead of working a job just to pay the rent. Anyways, that’s why I haven’t been posting. There’s been a pretty adjustment to get used to being back and school but now that I feel more settled I will be posting more. IMG_5113.JPG
Here I am on my first day back!

I didn’t get enough training done in the summer to prepare for the fall racing season. August was a very hot month which left little time during the day where it was comfortable enough to run outside. There was one night where I waited until 7pm to run and it was still 32 degrees out. That coupled with preparing for school made me slack off on running.

Despite not training as much, I did the army run a few weekends ago. It went about as well as I could have expected. I didn’t get much sleep the entire weekend which really lowered my expectations. I ran half of the race with my dad and then stopped for a pee break and never caught up to him. We crossed the 10k mark at about 1:02, but I couldn’t hold the pace for the whole race. My knee started to hurt which was probably from under training. Eventually after stretching my thighs out, the knee pain went away and I managed to finish the race in about 2:26. Not my best but not bad considering I walked. My dad crushed it and did it in 2:11. He is officially faster than me!

IMG_5150.JPG

A funny thing about how the race went was that I wasn’t actually worn out at the finish line because I slowed down to protect my knee. I blew past everyone in the last kilometer because I still felt pretty good. Here I am sprinting to the finish.

IMG_5153.JPG

I signed up for two more fall races also. They’re the same ones that I did last year. I am signed up for the 9runrun half marathon in October and then the Gatineau half marathon on Halloween. I always seem to run my fastest races at 9runrun, so I signed up for that one in hopes of doing it again. I don’t think I will be in the best shape to beat my absolute best time, which happened on a training run for the Around the Bay race. I haven’t been running as much as I did when I was training for that so I don’t think that will be possible.

I am also going to start doing more hill training in preparation for the Gatineau race. If I recall what I did last year, I only did hills once or twice before I did the race and it was just brutal. I don’t know what I was thinking when I figured I could just wing it.

A thing I did to prepare for the army run was to run up and down the Alexandra bridge. Every year it seems so brutal once you hit this bridge in the race and I didn’t want to feel that again.

IMG_5007.JPG

I also did a training run in Gatineau park because I had the luxury of borrowing my parents car while they were on vacation. In terms of hills, this is the closest place to Ottawa that you can go to train. Unfortunately they are too far for me to run there and use them so this was a nice treat.

IMG_5107.JPG
Here I am at the pink lake lookout.

Right now I’m trying to decide which races to sign up for next year. With school, I’m not sure if I will be able to dedicate enough time to train for a marathon. I know if I have good time management, I’ll be able to do it but that is easier said than done. Prices don’t go up for a while so I will think about it some more.

I’ll leave you with a picture of another place I like to run. These are the locks that connect the canal to the Ottawa river. I like to run here because there is a hill which is nice to train on.

IMG_5139.JPG

IMG_5137.JPG

