Tags

, , ,

The holidays have finally rolled around so I made the one hour twenty minute bus ride to my parents house. I’ve never really ran around here in the winter except a failed Christmas run last year that lasted ten minutes before I got too cold.

When I first started running, I was living at my parents house for the summer and basically started for a lack of anything better to do. I am lucky to live near the trans-Canada trail so I can basically hop on it in either direction and run as far out as I need to go.

It was a nice day for running but surprisingly I didn’t see anyone else out; they must have ran earlier. However, as I mentioned in my previous post, everyone I passed said good morning to me. It’s so nice when that happens because it just adds some cheer to your run.

I ran past my old high school and ran parallel to where the trail is. It seemed like it might be packed down enough to run on but I didn’t want to get my shoes wet. I usually have two pairs but I only brought one back with me since I had limited carrying space. Here is a picture from the road:
IMG_4400.JPG

I took it from the sidewalk I was on and you can kind of see where the path is behind the trees. There’s more snow here than downtown!

Another benefit to being here is that there are some small hills that I can use for training. There are some in sandy hill downtown but they are so short and steep, they aren’t the best for training. I tried to take pictures of the two hills I ran up and down. It’s funny, they seem so much bigger when you know you are running up them.

IMG_4401.JPG

IMG_4402.JPG

They’re little hills but they are longer than the ones downtown. I should probably work some more hills into training. From what I’ve read, there are rolling hills on the Around the Bay course. It’s not going to compare to the half marathon I did in Gatineau Park, but it will probably be nasty if I don’t prepare.

This week is going to be tough for fitting workouts in because it’s Christmas. I’m planning on going to the gym tomorrow morning before work because there is freezing rain in the forecast, which wouldn’t be smart to run in.

Here I am in one of my Christmas presents!

IMG_4403.JPG
It was really great for keeping my face warm before I really got going. Then I pulled it down once I was warm!

If I don’t post again before Christmas, Merry Christmas!!
P.s. Sorry if the formatting isn’t the greatest, I’m posting from my phone since I didn’t bring my computer

